Home // Minutes of the Annual Meeting, June 14, 2017

Minutes of the Annual Meeting, June 14, 2017




Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Historical Society

The 146th Annual Meeting of the Historical Society of Dauphin County took place at historic Paxton Presbyterian Church in Paxtang, near Harrisburg, on June 14, 2017.

The meeting was called to order by John K. Robinson, president of the Board of Trustees, at 7:00 pm. He welcomed members and guests and thanked the congregation of Paxton Church for hosting the Society’s Annual Meeting. He also thanked Society Trustee Marcia Gobrecht for arranging for the location of the meeting. A review of the year’s activities was presented. Staff and volunteers were recognized and thanked.

The president introduced Christine V.E. Turner, who had recently been appointed Executive Director. Ms. Turner thanked the members for their warm welcome.

Trustee James Franklin, Esq., conducted the re-election of Erik Fasick of Lemoyne as Trustee. Members voted unanimously to re-elect Mr. Fasick and announced the officers for 2017: Erik Fasick, president; John K. Robinson, vice-president; Ruthann Hubbert Kemper, secretary; Paul Fisher, treasurer.

Trustee David Biser recognized volunteers who had served the Society in some way during the previous year. Each is to be invited to a behind-the-scenes tour of collections of the State Museum of Pennsylvania in fall 2017.

President-elect Fasick presented a certificate of appreciation to outgoing president Robinson, who then adjourned the meeting.

Christine Turner invited attendees to join church member Norm Daniels in the sanctuary of the church for a tour of that historic building and the adjacent cemetery, where John Harris, Jr., builder and first owner of the John Harris-Simon Cameron Mansion is buried.

After the cemetery tour, members returned to the social room for refreshments and conversation.

Written June 18, 2017