Sunday, July 17, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

17~1 Clear and warm. I was at our church with my family morning and evening. [following sentence was written above the previous sentence] Got ice for first time this season of [?]. home 9 ½ to bed 10 PM.

Monday, July 18, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

18~2 Clear and very warm. Settled with Mary Scott Clendenin the Bal. Prin + Int. on my Bond dated [?] 12/38 being Prin. $1.50 + Int $4.12 and on which bond pd her 24 May last $2.50, and this day Borrowed [?] from her the further sum of $100 at her request for which and the bal principal due on the old bond as aforesaid making $2.50 I gave her my new Bond of this date and pd her the sd intr of $4.12 by deducting it from Bal. due on her boarding and recd her ck on the Hg Savg Instn for $115..38 being the Sd $100 Borrowed and the Bal of her Boarding after deducting the Sd $4.12 Int. and $12 Borrowed by my wife of her and marked as [billed?] the inst + $1. got by me of her 16th inst. Paid W.P. Hays (Sexton/$2.00 for digging grave for my son Joseph in April last. Took ride this morning on horseback 5 miles about 9 a.m. Recd of Mo Philips for the heirs of JW Trimble decd $20 being the [qrs? or grs?] sent coming due 1 Oct. next Wife, son Chas Self took walk after tea. Spent Evg home + to bed 10 P.M.

Tuesday, July 19, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

19~3 Clear + Very Warm. Took ride 5 or 6 ms from 8 ½ to 10 am Depd in the H Savg Instn $100: out of CK recd of MSC yesterday. Handed wife 25 Cts repaid Wm McClure Esq in [Ekel] in Sherry no 54 April 7, 1839 [D.C.P. box? Or D.C. Pleas?] $4.00 paid by him to Mr. Geo W [Laying? or Saying?] for writing paper Books in Sd case for the late Sup Court to come out of money recd by me for Sd plff Jan 10. Last. Paid Mickl Bender for the heirs of Jas Trimble decd $8.50 ¼ for materials + building oven at property of said heirs occupied by Conrad Maltzried. Called with my wife to see Mrs. Nagle and at Shunks to see J.K.Findlay and his wife – home 9 and to bed 9 ½ P.M.

Wednesday, July 20, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

20~4 Clear + Pleasant – Rain last evening paid Mrs. Milleisen $4.73 Bal in full for butter from May 11 to this day both inclusive 21 market days 2 lbs per day and she having been pd on Sd [?] by my wife 24 last ms $2.00 – Paid for marketing 15 cts handed Martin, Ostter 6 ¼ , pd for alcohol 12 ½ cts amt 3 [hems?] 33 ¾ cts – Recd of Jacob Garman one of the adms of Geo Garman decd Fee $5.00 on a/c for professional counsel in relation to estate of said George. Paid Mr. Dougherty [runner? or supper?] from bar office present D.W. Rawn of whom I got the charge 50 cts freight of a Venetian Blind for my office window from Edward Hedges Phila this day brought under charge of Wm Greenawatt who, Dougherty said, he was to get 50 cts for it. Wrote to Bechtold + Shoemaker Spring Creek Dauphin County kept copy on subject of claim of Patterson Co. recd 8 inst. Received letter from H.C. Hickok Esq. "Bloomfield July 11/42" and pd POS 10 ½ in reply to mine of July 1 + 15 enclosing a check on the [76 Hadd Mkt?] to my order for $197 on a/c of the McClure Abbott claim against Welsch- wife, son Chas + self took walk after tea. Spent evening after wd returned at home and to bed at 9 ½ P.M.

Thursday, July 21, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

21~5 Clear + Pleasant. Took ride on horseback 8 or 9 miles from 8 to 10 a.m. Paid J.W. Harper 80 ½ cts his witness fees in [Herron?] vs Miller No 79 apt T. 1841 out of [Piff’s?] bill recd by me 11 Mch last. Recd of Wm H Parsons for Elizah Mitchell exr of James Lynd Jr. decd further sum of $20 an acct. of claim against him (v. Aug. 10/41) deposited in Harrisburg Savings [ ? ] $197 being the chk 2nd of H.C. Hickok recd yesterday. Wife son Chas self took ride in Dearbourn after tea from 6 ½ to 7 ½ p.m. Spent evening at home and to bed 9 ½ P.M.

Friday, July 22, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

22~6 Clear + Pleasant – ride on horseback from 8 ½ to 10 ½ a.m. 8 or 9 miles. Paid for 2 qts dewberries. 12 ½ + 6 ¼ to Martin the Ostter yesterday – amt 18 ¾ cts. Recd of John Dowding $50 in case of Bear +c. vs. Dowding in Dau. C. Pleas No 137 Nov. 1. 1841 on acct. Spent day chiefly in office – Chas self took walk after tea – to bed 10 PM.

Saturday, July 23, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

23~7 Clear + warm. – paid for marketing by mother C. including 2lbs of butter of Mrs Milleisen at 30 cts. 67 cts Handed wife for lamp oil + a hickory broom 50 cts took ride on horseback from 8 ¼ to 10 ¼ a.m. 8 or 9 miles paid for papers 3 cts and handed wife 75 cts. to pay Mrs. Hoffman for 3 weeks milk + cream to this day inclusive in full- Amt 4 items above $1.95- took ride after tea 3 or 4 miles by 7 ¾ or 8 P.M. – to bed 9 P.M.

Jump to date: