Sunday, August 7, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

7~1 Cloudy + Clear. I was at church in Mg with Mother C. M.S.C. Son Chas and rest of day Evg at home. Rev. Mr. Schaeffer of the Lutheran Ch. preached. To bed at 9 P.M.

Monday, August 8, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

8~2 Clear + Cloudy warm rode on horseback from 8 ¾ to 10 ½ a.m. 6 or 7 Miles. Recd of Wm H. Parsons in Mitchell Ex2 [ordered?] against him the further sum of $5.00 (v. 21 ult + 25 ult.) Recd of John Dowding in the case of Bear +c. is Dowding in Dauphin Cou. Pleas No137 Nov. 7. 1841. On acct. of [Hight?] in sd case the further sum of $100 (v. 22 Ultimo). Depd in 76 [Tavd?] Justs the said $100 except a five dollar Lewistown Bank note they would not take the plan of which I supplied by other money. Wrote letter to B. Bordley Crawford Esqr. Chambs in reply to his recd 6 inst. Paid at Wyeth for mixture, prescription of Dr. J.T. Sharpless 31 ¼ Cts (v. 27 Ult.) and for Liquorice at Grofs 6 ¼ - Amt 37 ½ Recd letter from J.M. [Ehel?] Springfield. [Hts.] July 25 in reply to mine of May 20 last. His letter so recd is dated 1841 inside which is of course a mistake. It ought to be 1842 – wife Son Self took walk after tea. Spent Evg at home to bed at 10 P.M.

Tuesday, August 9, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

9~3 Cloudy Clear, some Rain in afternoon, warm – I rode on horseback 5 or 6 miles from 10 to 11 a.m. Handed Martin Ostter at Hannling 12 ½ Cts. pd for 1 doz Blue Pills at Grofs 12 ½ Cts. amt 2 items 25 Cts. Spent afternoon and Evg chiefly in my office and to bed at 10 P.M.

Wednesday, August 10, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

10~4 Cloudy + Foggy till 9 a.m. pd for Marketing got by Mother C 72 cts. Including 2 lbs of butter of Milleisens for 25 cts [and BEEF of Geo. Neuer for 14 Cts.] – was at Jail ½ an hour or more abt 9 a.m. to see Geo. Nathans prisoner + client paid Martin ([Hahulens Osster?] 6 ¼ Cts amt 78 ¼ my wife, her mother, Son Charles self took ride in my carriage to Mr. Warfords at Mr Grimshaw’s old place 1 ½ miles from town at 4 P.M. – took tea + returned home at 7 ½ P.M. spent Evg at home and to bed at 9 P.M. Recd letter from J. Pilkingson "West Chester" Aug 8 [Ws Pol 10]

Thursday, August 11, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

11~5 Clear + Pleasant warm. Took ride on horseback 8 or 9 miles from 8 or 10 ½ a.m. Recd of Richard [Updegrove?] Bal. of Fee $10.40 in full on written agreement deld to him as also all his papers (v. 22. Jany last ) written agreement was dated Jan. 17/42. – Wrote to Christopher Buck shoemaker no 467 North 4th St. Phila referring him to my letter of 15th ultimo, reminding him that he had not yet made the proper remittance for my services Expended for him in Court against Louis Miller and that I should continue to remind him of this inexcusable default in this respect till he paid the money. Recd letter from [Kromer + Flenner?] No 235 North 3rd St. Phila pd POS 12 ½ Cts. And wrote to them in reply. Spent evg in office chiefly to bed 9 P.M.

Friday, August 12, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

12~6 Clear + Cloudy warm – rode on horseback before 10 a.m. after breakfast 5 or 6 miles pd [Md? Or Wd?] Roberts 50 Cts. For a Plum Tree sold + deld to me two or three years since and now standing between my smoke house and Privy, also pd him 50 Cts. my half of fee pd by him on proof of this + my joint demands against Ma [Sheirly? or Theirly?] before B. Parke bankrupt Comr Hult and Recd of him $1.00 pd me to State Cap. Gazette in my settlement with it [binst.?] for advg audg Disn in the matter of Wm [2?] Wallace’s [afst?] – spent afternoon and eveng chiefly in my office. Chas Self took walk after tea. To bed 10 P.M.

Saturday, August 13, 1842 page icon [Intro & Addenda] pdf icon [PDF]

13~7 Clear + Warm . Paid for marketing got by Mother C. 69 Cts. Including 2 lbs of butter for 25 cts of Milleisens and mutton for 14 cts of Neuer. Paid Jno Gunton 25 Cts. for basket of tomatoes containing about 10 ¼ doz. These first tomatoes we have bought this year. Recd letter from J.G. Clarkson Esqr. Phila June 24 by hands of Edwd S. Sayres Esqr. whom it introduces to me and who tells me he was here in June about date of letter during my absence for my health. He left certain claims with me against Matthew Wilson in his favor. – He is a very pleasant and agreeable gentleman and on very friendly terms with Mr. Clarkson. recd letter from E.S. [Baer?] Elizabethtown. Spent day chiefly in my office took ride 3 or 4 miles after tea to bed 9 P.M.

Jump to date: